Jag Leaderboard
Close this search box.

Calling all procurement professionals: why enter The NIGELS?

The Nigels

The PASA Annual Procurement in Practice Awards – rebranded the ‘NIGELS’ in memory of the founder of PASA, Nigel Wardropper – is open for entries until 8th September.

The top three shortlisted finalists in each category get to present their case study entry live in person, in the plenary session of the largest and most influential procurement event in ANZ. The audience then vote the winner in each category.

The 2023 winners of the prestigious awards will be announced at The 11th Annual PASA Premier ConfeX on 19th October 2023, live at the Flemington Racecourse Conference Centre in Melbourne.

Enter now for the chance to present your entry.

Why enter?

You may be asking yourself “why should I enter”?

There’s so much to be gained from submitting an entry.

It’s an excellent way to:

1 – Recognise excellence in the profession
2 – Encourage good leadership qualities from your team
3 – Improve your presentation skills
4 – Showcase inspiring stories about procurement, from which others can learn
5 – Contribute to a great event in memory of someone who made a difference in the procurement profession

Last year’s winners benefitted enormously from their awards and most were invited to represent their case study at PASA events this year.

But don’t just take our word for it, here’s what Aditi Cook, CPO at Ministry of Education New Zealand had to say about winning the Procurement Data Intelligence Award in 2022:

“Winning the award has elevated our profile within the business and the wider ecosystems. We have been able to showcase the value add that procurement can bring to any organisation.”

What are the three award categories?

Recognising the extraordinary achievements of successful procurement professionals throughout Australasia, The NIGELS includes two award categories which rotate to reflect current challenges faced by the industry.

This year’s two new award categories are sponsored by GEP, including:

The Procurement Stakeholder Alignment Award, acknowledging the alignment of value delivery with organisational priorities.

The Procurement Value Generation Tracking Award, which focuses on measuring and reporting value to stakeholders.

The most prestigious award is the Most Improved Procurement Team Award and is not sponsored, but presented solely in PASA’s name.

It recognises teams that have shown significant growth and development in their capabilities, whether through people, process, technology, strategic initiatives or exceptional leadership.

The judging panel will shortlist three entries from each of the three award categories, who will present their ten-minute case study.

The audience members then vote the winners in each category using the conference app, effectively peer-reviewing the shortlisted entries.

The winners are presented with special engraved trophies on day two of the conference.

Lesley Wardropper, Nigel’s wife and PASA Managing Director, urged procurement teams of all sizes from across the region to get their submissions in and highlight their recent achievements both internally and externally.

Our unique format allows for learnings to be shared with everyone and clear play a role in the
development of the profession
” she said.

The extended opening dates this year allow time-pressed buyers extra opportunity to submit their entry on our user-friendly online entry forms, which are quick and easy to complete.”

How to enter

Simply go to the Nigels Awards website and fill out a nomination form by 8th September 2023.

Scroll to Top

Contact Us