Jag Leaderboard
Close this search box.

Announcing The Winners of The Nigels

Since 2016, PASA has hosted The PASA Awards as a core part of the annual PASA PremierCONFEX event.

These awards were unique in that they recognised new approaches in procurement and, most crucially, were judged not by an anonymous panel but by event attendees. Audience members in attendance would listen to a range of case study presentations detailing excellent and innovative procurement work by their peers, which provided everyone with an opportunity to learn from award entrants and the best practices they showcased.

Introducing The Nigels

The late founder of PASA, Nigel Wardropper, always took a personal hand in the PASA Awards’ process, the presentations and the shortlisting. He cared that procurement as a subject constantly moved forward – that it was innovative, practical and, most of all, achieved real results.

These principles have been enshrined into the PASA Awards’ process for the future as a memorial to Nigel who sadly died last October. This year, to recognise and celebrate all that Nigel achieved, we have renamed the annual PASA Awards, The Nigels.

Going forward The Nigels will seek to:

  • Recognise excellence in our profession.
  • Encourage good leadership qualities.
  • Showcase great stories about procurement from which others can learn.
  • Contribute to a great event in memory of someone who made a real and lasting difference to procurement in Australia and New Zealand
  • Focus not on the best but the most improved.
  • Celebrate the practical, the innovative, and the entirely “solution” focused procurement teams.

These are just some of the qualities that Nigel, always held close, which is why it seems so entirely appropriate to re-brand these awards The Nigels.

Announcing the winners of The Nigels 2021

PASA’s 9TH Annual Premier ConfeX, took place on the 13th and 14th October 2021. The two-day virtual conference brought procurement leaders from across the ANZ region together to discuss the topic of transforming procurement and announce the winners of The Nigels.

This year featured three awards including:

  • Most Improved Procurement Team 2021
  • Procurement innovation of the Year 2021
  • The Procurement Transformation Award 2021

Most Improved Procurement Team 2021

Shortlisted entrants

  • DFAT
  • Monadelphous


  • DFAT

Procurement Innovation of the Year 2021

Shortlisted entrants

  • NARTA (National Associated Retail Traders of Australia)
  • Victorian Govt Dept of Education & Training (Vic School Building Authority)


  • Victorian Govt Dept of Education & Training (Vic School Building Authority)

Procurement Transformation of the Year

Shortlisted entrants

  • Thales (Supported by Hays)
  • The Western Australia Local Govt Association (WALGA)


  • Thales (Supported by Hays)

Thank you to all the judges and entrants, and a huge congratulations to our winners. PASA looks forward to celebrating The Nigels for many years to come.

Scroll to Top

Contact Us